In Her Kitchen: Stories and Recipes from Grandma’s Around the World by Gabriele Calimberti

In Her Kitchen by Gabriele Galimberti

This book is just beautiful.

Gabriele Galimberti is a photographer and this book has some of the most beautiful photographs of each grandmother and her favorite dish presented.

For instance you have:
Shark in Coconut soup from the Philippines

Grape Leaves stuffed with Beef and Rice from Armenia

Swiss Chard and Ricotta Ravioli with Meat sauce from the authors own Gramma in Italy

( I can’t wait to make that one)

I just want to hug this book every time I pick it up. To me it’s more than just a cookbook. It’s a book done from love. Most of us love our Grandmother’s and there was/is nothing like their cooking. It takes you home in an instant. It’s done with a picture of the grandmother from that country in her kitchen with the ingredients spread out for the recipe coming up. Then you have a picture of the recipe itself. Then you get my favorite part, a small section telling something about each Grandmother..then the recipe itself.

These recipes are simple and most of them have easily found ingredients. There are a couple that I don’t think I will either search down or attempt. (Iguana in one and caterpillars in another) Hey, don’t knock it though. If possible I would love to visit each of these sweet gramma’s in their kitchens and tell stories and eat up their cooking.
I gave this a four only because the layout could be confusing…there is an index in the back for easier look-ups though.

I moved in with my wonderful grandmother when I was 14 years old for awhile and every single day I want to kick my own butt for being a typical teenager and not paying her any attention. She cooked every day and half the time I would tell her I wasn’t hungry. Yes…my ass needed kicked. I wish now I hadn’t been such a spoiled brat and had went into that kitchen with her. Nothing ever tastes as good as I remember her food.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review from blogging for books. Thank you so much.

2 thoughts on “In Her Kitchen: Stories and Recipes from Grandma’s Around the World by Gabriele Calimberti

    1. Ohhhh Champurado sounds more like something I would try. Drooling.

      I don’t think I’ll try the shark soup one either. Fresh seafood just does not exist in my area.

      Now I wants chocolate and rice. LOL

Leave a comment