Monthly Archives: January 2016

Fast Food Maniac by Jon Hein

Fast Food Maniac by Jon Hein

Okay, so this book totally sucked. I MEAN SUCKED!
At the beginning of it the author does admit that he is a rabid fan of all fast food. What he doesn’t tell the reader is that he is boring as heck.

I love some fast food. I have to maintain this girlish figure somehow. But what this book does is just push a book out hoping to cash in on some dough. Pun really not intended.
It’s separated into sections with the big chains, regional ones and Jon Hein’s holy grail of favorites. Guess what gets the top spot? Frigging McDonald’s. Now I know McDonald’s is probably the most well known chain ever but dang.
The little bits of each restaurant gives a little chart of when the restaurant was established, the founder, locations, yada-yada. Then he goes on to just give you a few chapters of just basic information. If you are over the age of 2 you are going to learn nothing new here folks.

I wanted more. I wanted to know details of food. It’s a damn food book isn’t it? I want to know what to expect when I eat at Hardee’s.

I would have given this book a one star except he does mention a chain that I know I’m going to pay later for eating at…but I just can’t resist.
Palm Springs commercial photography
BUT, he suggests that you get a naked dog. YOU DO NOT get a naked dog at the Varsity. You get that chili dog. I have no idea what is in that chili, but you get it. You lick ever last drop of it off that plate too. Stock up on toilet paper on the way home. But it’s worth it. Even the president knows what to do!
Palm Springs commercial photography
When that lady taking your order yells “whata you have? whata you have?” You hurry up and order it and get the hell outta the way. There is chili dogs to be had here.

About all this book did was make me call my husband and have him stop for supplies on the way home.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Booksource: Blogging for books in exchange for review.

Floodgate by Johnny Shaw

Floodgate by Johnny Shaw

When I saw this book I did not even take a minute to read the blurb. I just knew if Johnny Shaw wrote it that it would be mine! I did go into it expecting some of his previous works. Johnny Shaw then laughed; and then kicked my ass, because this book is nothing like his previous books that I’ve read.Dove Season, Big Maria and Plaster City are some of my favorite books ever. They feature interesting characters that are a tad bit on the rednecky side.

My people.

Then I start this book and I whined. I admit that at first I hated this sucker. I kept reading.

Andy Destra is a cop that got kicked off the force for trying to be honest. In a town full of bad guys that just couldn’t fly. He just can’t stop digging though and it will end him up dead.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Auction City is a crime riddled place and it wants to stay that way. Then Andy stirs up a hornet’s nest and a gang war is coming.

Andy finds out that he may have to straddle the fence between what he feels is wrong and right. Family ties pull at him and Auction City’s sordid past comes to life all over again.
“You’re looking for good guys and bad guys. We’re the effective guys. If there’s a problem, Floodgate has the power to fix it. .

I hate to be so vague about the book but dammit I want people to read this. To me it mixed in shades of the movie Sin Citywith old time Noir. Then threw in some characters that I couldn’t look away from. Including a six foot bald, black woman that you would not want to get on the wrong side of.
The projectile rolled near Andy’s feet. A can of soup. The woman had weaponized Campbell’s Cream of Mushroom. Take that, Andy Warhol.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Several women in this book are the toughest characters.
Palm Springs commercial photography

In the movies the heroes won. In movies there were such things as heroes. Movies were full of shit.

For someone who hated this book in the beginning I had to eat my words. Now I can’t get this book out of my head. Damn you Johnny Shaw.

Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.

The Mother Road by Meghan Quinn

The Mother Road

Marley’s dad Bernie and brother Paul show up in California sporting the family RV. Paul is getting married and they decided the perfect way to get him ready for the marriage is a road trip in memory of their mom in Tacy. Tacy is so named for one of the characters in The Long, Long Trailer. She is about that old also, her tire on the back is sagging, her paint is flaking. Road trip!!
Palm Springs commercial photography

What Marley doesn’t realize is that Paul’s best bro-mance friend Porter is going to be the hitch-hiker they pick up. Porter is the brother’s best friend that broke Marley’s heart.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Rawr!!

They embark upon the journey for the perfect hotdog for their beloved mom’s memory.
Palm Springs commercial photography

The stops along the way give you the feeling of being along for the ride……I LOVE some road tripping.
Palm Springs commercial photography
Palm Springs commercial photography
Palm Springs commercial photography
(The blue whale story will never be removed from the scar it left in my mind)

Then there is the humor.
Marley’s brother Paul is the perfect comic relief. He has no shame in the fact that most of the time his family and friend are wondering how the heck he is getting married since he seems to be minus a nut sac.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Sometimes the humor does wear thin in the book though because it does seem to never end. Fart jokes and bodily functions do happen pretty regularly in this family. Plus they have no concept of TMI.
Palm Springs commercial photography

I did end up enjoying the book though and the sex made up for lots of farting, and I loved these frigging characters.

There comes a time in a girl’s life when she has to reach deep down into her soul, clear the pathways of her inner goddess, and let out her nuclear Satan. You know what I’m talking about.
The crazy.
Don’t try and act like you don’t have it; every woman does.

Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.

With Malice by Eileen Cook

With Malice by Eileen Cook

I had not heard of this book until I requested one of the Buzz Books from Netgalley. It was featured in that and I read a bit of it and realized that maybe it wasn’t a cheap knock off of the books it’s being compared too. ‘For fans of We Were Liars and The Girl on the Train comes a chilling’…I hated both those books. Please I’ve said this before…….
Palm Springs commercial photography

Jill wakes up. Finds out she is in a hospital with a jacked up leg and stitches everywhere.
Palm Springs commercial photography
She then finds out that she took that trip to Italy that she has been dying to go on and that her best friend Simone is now dead. (Not a spoiler-cool your panties)

She has no memory at all of the last six weeks. She discovers that the Italian police want her for questioning and her rich dad has hired a lawyer for her. Jill is not a character I hated. I really thought she would grate on my last nerve because…
Didn’t she know who she was talking to? National Merit Scholar. Perfect score in Ms. Harmer’s chemistry class, first time in school history. State debate champion and an almost certain shoo-in for our class valedictorian.

Jill is quite like-able as a character. Even though she comes from a rich broken family she still comes through as very real and her pain about Simone’s death was actually believable.
Listening to Simone talk about her love life. I was the observer. I didn’t bother with messy relationships. I preferred crushes on unattainable people-actors, musicians, or characters in a book. Fictional boyfriends were way more satisfying, in my experience.

The reader gets to go through the aftermath with Jill. The therapy trying to bring back some memories.
Palm Springs commercial photography

The real fear of going to jail in another country.
My only experience with jail was a show on Netflix, and I was willing to bet my cellmates wouldn’t have such a great sense of humor.
Palm Springs commercial photography

How the internet and media can make a person feel like a bag of turds?
Anyone who says “sticks and stones might break some bones, but words will never hurt you” has never been in my shoes. I’d prefer being beaten with rocks-it would hurt, but it would be nothing compared to the razor cuts of a million nasty words.

Then finding out that she was involved with a boy that she has no memory of and that she and her best friend might not have been as perfect as she thought?
Palm Springs commercial photography

I would have given this book that full five stars except for the fact that the ending seemed a bit rushed and I expected more from a book that didn’t let me put it down all day.

Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.

Cats in Paris by Won-Sun Jang

Cats in Color by Won-Sun Jang

I’m in the middle ground on this book. The pages are thick and the paper is high quality. However, some of the drawings seem very simple for an adult coloring book.

Palm Springs commercial photography

The beginning of the book is a cat giving you a short tour of Paris. He ends up in a bookstore, whici I loved.
Palm Springs commercial photography

That’s only for a short part in the front. The rest of the book is random with some simple images to color and some more complex. There are also several pages of cat postage stamps to entertain yourself with.
I like some of the images in the book and the paper quality so I’m rounding up to a three star for the book.

I received a copy of this book in exchange for review from Blogging for Books. Thank you!