Soux Chef: 24 Hours on the Line by Michael Gibney

Sous Chef by Michael Gibney

I’ve always been fascinated with chefs. I’m a bit stalkerish as I watch or read anything I can get my hands on with them in it.

Rawr! They have food! Good food! And they make the magic and make dishes that I would never dream of. That I don’t have to clean up after.
Not that I can afford to eat in the 75 dollar per person restaurant.
I used to sorta fantasize about doing it myself but the hours are just unreal. Even if I wasn’t an old lady with a million kid. AND I know that all restaurants aren’t dream jobs. They work your butt off for low pay and no compensation.

This book gives you 24 hours in the life of a sous chef. Not the high glamour one that you see on TV. (Thank gawd)..this is the real deal.

You are with him when he goes in that morning to check the coolers.

Then when the pandemonium of service finally begins..you are in the heat of the action. I felt like I needed to be cutting up some vegetables at this point. Really, really fast.

Then when the day ends..there really isn’t much of a break.

I loved this inside look. The author addresses the reader as “you” so you feel like it’s you that observing and participating in this high action world. Now I just wish I could have tasted some of that food.

Leave a Reply

