Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

Welcome to the internet in the year 2016. Where a simple book blurb broke the internet for a few days. A teenage girl who was rescued from her house because her weight kept her a prisoner. Then through in a statement about how she is returning to high school aka..the real world after being homeschooled.
commercial photography locations

I KNOW!! Let’s all run and one star and bash the book.

Not.

And all you guys thought I was the biggest bully on here didn’t you?

Because I had (for once) stopped to think about what the book meant..and it made me drool all over myself.
I didn’t jump on the bandwagon. I wanted the book even more.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Because I’ve been a bit on the fat side many times in my life. I lose some weight and then I gain some weight. Big dang deal. (I can say that now-I couldn’t when I was this character’s age.) I home-school my kid. AND YES sometimes we talk about him joining the ‘real world’ again. Does that mean he is socially awkward? Hell no.

This book is something that if I had it in high-school I would have highlighted ever stinking line of it. It would have became my Shelby bible of how to deal with all the assholes that dwell in high-school. (and real life)

These characters:
Libby Stout, she is the girl that was taken from her house. By a crane. Because her mom had died suddenly and she could not cope. Food became her crutch, her dad didn’t know how to deal with it and tried..he did try. But when someone is bent on self destruction-sometimes that path can’t be detoured. She does finally reach that point (when the crane is brought out) that her dad knows that help is needed. He wants to save his daughter. He gets her help.
Then comes to the point in the story where she is going back to school. She has lost some weight, she is still overweight by public opinion. BUT this girl totally knows who she is.

For example..on the first day back at school.
“Hey,” he says.
“Hey.”
“Is it true fat girls give better blow jobs?”
“I don’t know. I’ve never gotten a blow job from a fat girl.”.

Jack Masselin: This kid hides the fact that he recognizes no one’s face. Not even his own family. He once screamed that his mom was kidnapping him because she had gotten a haircut and he didn’t have the familiar markers to place her in his mind.
He plays the cool guy at school but he lives in fear that someone will discover his secret.

Then they end up in group counseling together. This is not a boy rescue the fat girl story. This is a story of two people realizing who exactly they are..and owning it.
People are shitty for a lot of reasons. Sometimes they’re just shitty people. Sometimes people have been shitty to them and, even though they don’t realize it, they take that shitty upbringing and go out into the world and treat others the same way. Sometimes they’re shitty because they’re afraid. Sometimes they choose to be shitty to others before others can be shitty to them. So it’s like self-defensive shittiness.

Books like this are exactly why I read young adult.

Jennifer Nevin, I hope you pat yourself on the back. And the haters?
commercial photography locations

Booksource: I received a copy of the book from the publisher in exchange for review.

One thought on “Holding Up the Universe by Jennifer Niven

Leave a Reply

