Best of My 2016 Books

I feel like I had an off year of reading. I changed jobs, went through a book slump and then Goodreads started completely losing my interest. First world problems for sure.

I still managed to read 176 books. Boring statistic thingie inserted here:

Seventeen of them rating five stars, 62 of them four stars, 65 of the books rating 3 stars, 27 two stars and only six 1 star books. I may have lost my bully touch. Maybe it’s the resolution I made to not DNF a book all of 2016? Who knows. I made that goal. Yay me.

Enough rambling. On to the books!

Best Non-Fiction

I had a tie in this category. They both are two of the best I’ve read.

Mean Justice: A Town's Terror, a Prosecutor's Power, a Betrayal of Innocence

Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City

Best Western. That I don’t read a lot of but was going to make sure that this book made my list anyways:

The Thicket

Best book that I loved and most of my friends hated:

The Girls

Best Surprise of the year..that I never imagined would end up a favorite: That cover makes me cringe.

Nine Minutes (Nine Minutes, #1)

Best Sci-Fi:

Dark Matter

Best Romance: Yes, I eat these books up with a spoon.

(ugly covers are everywhere)

First Star I See Tonight (Chicago Stars, #8)

Best Hick-Lit and Pure Fun:

Savage Reckoning

And I save the best two books of the year for last.

I can’t pick between these two. They are the best of the best. Read them.

The Serpent King

All the Ugly and Wonderful Things

9 thoughts on “Best of My 2016 Books

  1. Fantabulous list, Shelbs. The two best of the year surprised me. I must take a closer look! BTW, I did not know you had a blog!

Leave a Reply

