Failures of Imagination: The Deadliest Threats to Our Homeland–and How to Thwart Them by Michael McCaul

Failures of Imagination by Michael McCaul

For some reason I can’t resist these type books. I know they are going to end up scaring me. I know that they are usually going to tick me off. I still read them. I think people need to be educated, even those these books do seem to be a guideline of how to wipe the US off the map.
Palm Springs commercial photography

This one is written by a Texan Republican who is a US representative, he also happens have served as the Chairman of the House Committee on Homeland Security. I expected great things from this book since he has those credentials. I didn’t really get them.
I did like some of this book as McCaul writes very well. He starts each scenario with a fictionalized story of the disaster in the making. These read like a terrorism thriller and I couldn’t read them fast enough, then he has the briefing for the disaster to the White House. These read kinda dry but I don’t work in the White House so what do I know? Then he explores if the scenario could happen and what we can do to prevent it.

That was a fail. There just wasn’t enough information for me as a reader to see any outlook other than the whole “we are screwed” thing.

Now the politics. I can see the wisdom of a Republican releasing this book in a big election year. He does employ some scare tactics on which presidential campaigns we should be rooting for and points out some of the failings of the current one under President Obama. But the thing is? I’m totally middle of the road on that stuff. I see points on both sides but then I try and figure out which side is going to screw me the least. Hopefully.
Palm Springs commercial photography

No switching of the political fence for this reader happened. I already hated a couple of them before I read it. So boo-yah.
Palm Springs commercial photography
So over-all I think that this book does serve a purpose, and it’s a important one even if you aren’t in the USA. Go out and educate yourself. I wish someone who was totally impartial on politics would have written this one though…and would have given a bit more of how to stop the crap from hitting the fan.

Booksource: Blogging for books in exchange for review

Leave a Reply

