After You by JoJo Moyes

After You (Me Before You, #2)

When I first heard that Me Before You would have a sequel I wondered how Jojo Moyes would be able to pull it off. It either could go fairly decently or be a big old hot mess.
How do you top a book that was perfection to me?
Palm Springs commercial photography

The author does have a bit at the beginning asking readers to not spoil anything for other readers and I will respect that, because just because a book doesn’t work for me doesn’t mean that everyone will feel that same way.
It’s just that….I felt so personally invested in that first book.
When this one started out I was okay. Lou was battling her grief over Will’s death. I know how hard losing someone can be. It’s devastating. Hell, Will was a book character and I shed a whole lot of tears over him myself.
I feel like JoJo Moyes should have had a best friend that just stopped her when she presented the idea of this book to her. Instead of encouraging her….
Palm Springs commercial photography

Because, it did not work. AT ALL.
Palm Springs commercial photography

Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.

2 thoughts on “After You by JoJo Moyes

Leave a Reply

