Andersonville by Edward M. Erdelac

Andersonville by Edward M. Erdelac

Barclay Lourdes is a black man with a big secret. He is headed south on a train and another black man dies and he steps into his identity. Ending up in Andersonville Prison. Andersonville is also known in the history books as Camp Sumter. A prison camp in Georgia for Yankee soldiers there have been rumors getting out about just how bad this prison is.

It’s much, much worse.

Chicago commercial photographers

I have a pretty strong stomach and a few times reading this book I got very queasy. Knowing it’s based on an actual prison made it more in my head.
“Hell is empty and all the devils are here.”

Barclay was reminded of the stories his Creole mother had told him as a boy of half-starved zombies, soulless slaves taken alive and ensorcelled from their graves to work until they wasted and died again. when he had actually seen such things in later life, they had not been half as repulsive as the men who now shambled before his eyes.
(there is no zombies in this story)

The camp is run by a cliquish group called the Raiders that take from the other prisoners and the camp itself is controlled by a calculating leader. Dang, I hate that I can’t say much more.
Because I don’t want to spoil anything. My feelings on the book are this, I was going to give it 3 stars until something happened and I though “well-played”..so four stars it is.
The book does ramble on at times but not enough that I wanted to stop reading it, I was totally hooked. I did keep stopping to look up and see how correct the author was on his history and I realized that I was never going to finish if I kept doing that. That’s a sign that I’m into a book though. I cared enough to look into it more.

So if historical horror sounds good to you. Buckle your seatbelt and hold on. This one is a bumpy ride.

He said that the balances of the forces of good and evil is decided by humanity’s actions.
Angels are born from every good deed, and each of mankind’s sins creates a demon.

This creek features into the story all through out it.
Chicago commercial photographers

A re-creation of the tents that the lucky few were able to have to sleep in.
Chicago commercial photographers

The burying of the dead. Sometimes more bodies were going out this way than were coming in.
Chicago commercial photographers

Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.

Leave a Reply

