The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

The Weight of Feathers by Anna-Marie McLemore

I have a feeling I’m gonna get trolled for giving this one two stars.

I’m going to admit I am not cool enough for this book.

Shut up little Emo boy. I’m the cool mom. I bribe my kids to say so.

So you have Palomas and the Corbeaus families. They are both traveling performing families. They hate each other. I mean loathe each other.
The Paloma’s act is the women are the mermaids in the show and they best do their jobs or Abuela will get them. You just don’t cross that woman.

The Corbeaus used to be tightrope walkers. Now their act is sorta tree climbers extreme. They also grow feathers out of their heads.
I think of them as a cross between this:

And this:

The main characters are Lace Paloma who is one of the mermaids and Cluck (YES! that is his name) is one of the bird boy tree walkers. Of course they meet and fall in lurvvve.

Their families are going around trying to sabotage and beat the snot out of each other.

You know this little romance is just Romeo and Juliet doomed.

I would give this book points for being original and the writing is not too bad.
You have that touch of magic that makes you think these curses could come true, those feathers of death will get you every-time.

Booksource: Netgalley in exchange for review.

Leave a Reply

