The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

I actually liked this book.

Khalid, the so called King of kings marries often. He seems to have a shortage in the bride department. Maybe because after their wedding nights the brides are put to their death.
Then enter Shahrzad, after her best friend loses her life because she was one of Khalid’s brides Shahrzad volunteers to be his wife. She has plans on being his last because she is going to off his butt.

Once married she survives the marriage by telling him stories. She leaves him with a cliffhanger each night to keep his interest going. I’d have offed her just for that but what do I know? Anyways, Shahrzad is a pretty decent female main character. She speaks her mind, can shoot a bow, distrusts everyone (I like that in a girl) and is not even the prettiest girl in the whole book.

The romancey part of the book didn’t make me want to gag.

The marriage comes before the romance so it builds up afterwards, which is a different way of doing things and it actually sustained my interest. I think I probably gave this book an extra star just for the dang food. *starving*

I didn’t get all the answers I wanted with this book but there’s always that chance when the book is a series. PLEASE for the love of all the makes sense in the world people PLEASE quit making every book have to be a series.

Frigging library book to those that have to know where I get my books.

2 thoughts on “The Wrath and the Dawn by Renee Ahdieh

Leave a Reply

