Sugar by Deirdre Riordan Hall

Sugar by Deirdre Riordan Hall

Sugar is an overweight seventeen year old who’s life is basically taking care of her morbidly obese mama, cleaning up after her abusive brother Skunk and surviving her days at the local high school.
I lean against the doorframe, heavy with the truth. I am always in the way. I’ve known this for as long as I can remember. I’m the fat Puerto Rican-Polish girl who doesn’t feel like she belongs in her skin, or anywhere else for that matter. I’ve always been too much and yet not enough.

Kids, this book is frigging dark. I didn’t like it when I was about half way through it. I was tired of the fat-shaming, the bullying and the over-all just darkness of it. I kept thinking if I didn’t have some depression issues before reading it that this book would sure as hell give me some.

Sugar meets Even. A cute boy. Who looks past her body to see the real her. I’m telling you this girl has no one. Her so called best friend is a bed hopping, shoplifting, meth-head. She has NO ONE. I kept expecting Even to slam this girl, everyone else does. Including herself. The self shame that this book character has is beyond most the I’ve read and you do feel it for her.
Then she starts growing. Not on the outside.

Sugar starts seeing bits of herself peeking through those dark clouds. Don’t get me wrong, it’s still a dark frigging world. She still shovels food into herself filling her emptiness.
Then the book took an even darker turn. And this hateful bitch of a reader shed a few tears.

Why weren’t books like this around when I was growing up?

She sees right through to my soft, mushy core.
“You’ll never be like me.”
The words hiss like a fuse.
But I’m the dynamite.

I received a copy of this book from Netgalley.

Leave a Reply

