The Martian by Andy Weir

The Martian by Andy Weir

Mark Watney. I just can’t even tell you how much I love this character. I think he may just be on the list of my favorite male characters ever. The dude is stranded on Mars..with no one. Does he cry? Well only sometimes. Does he fight against the planet from hell? Heck yes!

Everywhere I go, I’m the first. Step outside the rover? First guy to every be there! Climb a hill? First guy to climb that hill! Kick a rock? That rock hadn’t moved in a million years!

I did get lost in some of the science of this book..but who cares? I might have learned something. If I ever get trapped on Mars I would probably die in 2.5 seconds. I do have confirmation on something that my husband tells me constantly. Duct tape fixes everything!


Mark Watney is full of snark and is probably the smartest character I’ve even had the pleasure of reading in a novel. He does find himself trapped with Disco music and bad seventies TV. One of the comments he makes is that women don’t line up for botanist/nerds.

Dude…so start the line behind me please!

I received a copy of this book from Blogging for books..in exchange for an honest review. Thank you so much!
Leave a Reply

