Far as the Eye Can See by Robert Bausch

Far As the Eye Can See by Robert Bausch

Bobby Hale. Who would have thought a character with no real plan would sneak up and capture my attention so very much?

Bobby has deserted the army several times. It’s just not his cup of tea. He decides to head out west. He plans on a destination of California but Bobby tends to ramble around. He takes up with a wagon train for awhile and then when they decide to stay he goes off with a Native American friend for several years of trapping. That sounds boring doesn’t it?
It’s not.

This author does an amazing job of bringing this time to life. I was fully prepared to not like this book. My mind was changed very quickly once I got into the book. The descriptions of the land, the people and even the food sweep you into this book.
Bobby becomes a favorite character of mine as this book goes along. I hate to give too much of the book away, because I want people to read it.


This period in our history is one that always breaks my heart when I think about it. The book handles the conflict well between the whites and Native Americans. It shows the good and bad on both sides. However, this book doesn’t fit in the typical western book genre. So if you are like me and don’t really care much for that type of book you can give this one a go and still be very happy.

I received an arc copy of this book from Netgalley in exchange for an honest review.

Leave a Reply

